Connect with Outdoortheme

Hardiness Zones Guide

Share |

Gardeners know that every plant is attributed to different growing zones, but few know that there is a specific guide for hardiness zones, which is unique to every region. Efforts are being taken to unite different regions to make a whole map of plant hardiness zones to simplify gardening.

Hardiness Zones

Birches in the Forest

Gardening Hardiness Zones

The most common hardiness guide is the U.S. Department of Agriculture Hardiness map; however, the map is generally covering  the Northern America region. The hardiness zone reffers to the lowest temperatures that the plant can withstand.

Of course there are certain errors in locating certain plants in zoning, as pointed out by National Gardening Association. So, this is rather hypothetical allocation, however, it works most of the time for gardeners. Below you can find the hardiness regions as attributed to U.S. Department of Agriculture classification.

Zones 1 to 4

The plants in this area can tolerate minimum temperature ranges from- 50 F to -20 F. This zone covers the most part of Canada and some states of U.S., such as Alaska, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Montana, Iowa and Nebraska. The plants native to this zone are woody, self-seeding plants such as birches, junipers and privets.

Zones 5 to 8

This zone ranges from – 20 F to 20 F, and covers Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Pennsylvania, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Georgia. The plants that feel comfortable in the region are roses, azalea, holly and orange trees.

Hardiness Zones

Citrus Gardening in Zone 9 to 11

Zones 9 to 11

This zone is rather mild, covering Texas, Florida, California, Hawaii and most of Mexico. The average temperature ranges from 20 F to 40 F, or even more. The plants in this area include citrus trees such as orange, lemon and lime and hardy plants like gum trees, palms and rubber plants.

Zones 15 to 20

The zone # 11 is usually the last one in the Northern America region, however, it can be extended to include other regions of the world. For example Zone 15 is attributed to Israel, Jordan, Turkey, Syria, Iraq and Azerbaijan, where temperature does not fall below 16 F. In the Zone 17 temperature does not fall below 25 F, covering the areas of Turkmenistan, the northwestern region of Afghanistan and the southern-most areas of Uzbekistan and western region of Tajikistan.

Zone 18 comprises territories of Southern Afghanistan and Pakistan, where temperatures do not drop below 36 F. Zone 19 is attributed to western areas of Saudi Arabia, the southern coast of the country of Yemen, Jordan, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman, Qatar and United Arab Emirates. The temperature in this area is never below 39 F. Now finally zone 20 is covering northeastern areas of Pakistan and the southeastern areas of Tajikistan, where temperature never falls below 39 F.

Tags: ,
Category: Gardening

No comments yet.

  1. You should be kind and add one!